Upcoming larp and clothing concept

This summer will mark my tenth year as a larper. My first years of larping consisted of going to one larp a year. Then I moved away from home and also started writing my own larps. I’ve lost count of exactly how many larps I’ve been to, some have been bigger and longer than others. A big larp in my association, Eloria, is usually a weekend-larp with 30+ larpers. Eloria is a small association and perhaps a bit isolated. It is the only Swedish-speaking larp association in Finland. Each year about 6-7 larps are played, usually with at least on bigger larp in the summer. This July will see the larp Loc Sacru and will be different from earlier larps in the way thet the venue is in Pukkisaari in Helsinki. Usually Eloria larps have been somewhere in Ostrabothnia where most of the members also live.

I am still not entirely sure exactly what kind of character I’ll be playing, but I’m probably going to be in charge of making the food. This early on I can’t make any definite plans about my clothing but most likely I will sew new clothes. That is because most of my larp clothing consists of dark garments, leather armor or nobility clothing. The things I could use I have probably outgrown. So it’s time to think of something new.

conceptLocSacru

This was a quick concept drawing of what I might make. I was thinking of a simple dress of linen of cotton, and a short-sleeved knee-length tunic to wear over it. I’m going to need to get some new shoes (or learn to make them, which would be an interesting project). I’m also going to need a new belt and some shawl to wrap around my head. I might reuse an old knee-length half circle cloak that I have, but somehow I feel like adding something green or brown to my wardrobe so I might also make a new cloak.

Seems like my project list is growing fast (which only makes me happy). I’ll try to post tutorials and patterns as I make these clothes, but first I should decide on the final design of the outfit.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

